How to Unlink Someone on Tinder


Tinder is one of the most popular dating apps in the world. It allows you to quickly connect with others nearby – or, if you’re a premium subscriber, anywhere in the world. Now, if a conversation goes south or you want to part ways, Tinder makes it easy to remove people from your match list. Let’s see how to unlink people on Tinder.

Read more: What does the blue star mean on Tinder?

QUICK RESPONSE

To unlink someone on Tinder, go to matches tongue. Open your chat with that person, then tap the blue shield > UNMATCH FROM [their name] > YES, UNMATCH.


ACCESS KEY SECTIONS

How to Unlink Someone on Tinder

Unlinking with another user allows you to delete them from your messages.

After unlinking someone, you can still appear in their Tinder feed. As such, it is possible to “re-match” with someone you already have unmatched. That said, after you unlink someone, your history with them is deleted. If you reconnect with them, your old messages will not reappear.

  1. Launch Tinder and go to matches tongue. It looks like two bubbles.
  2. Under Messages or New Matches, tap the person you want to unlink to open that conversation.
  3. Tap the blue shield icon in the top right.
  4. Faucet DISSOCIATE FROM [their name].
  5. In the “Do you want to unlink this user?” pop-up window, tap YES, UNMATCH.

What happens when you cancel the match on Tinder?

Not matching with someone is equivalent to not liking them, and it will remove both parties from the other’s match list. It’s also the closest you can get to blocking them, as mismatching will delete your entire history.

Does Tinder tell you if someone is unmatched?

Life goes on as normal for the person you are dressing up. They are not notified that you have unlinked them and will not be able to retrieve the messages they have sent to you.

That said, if someone has disappeared from your match list, that doesn’t necessarily mean they’ve blocked you. If someone deletes their Tinder account, all their matches and stored information are also deleted.